United Spring AC Tournament 2018

United’s Spring AC Tournament returned this year with open and handicap events on Saturday 29 and Sunday September 2018 and was managed by Chris Clarke.

The weather on Saturday was glorious but there was a chilly wind on Sunday morning which died down for the afternoon.

Both the open and handicap had six entries from nine clubs in Canterbury and South Canterbury. Both events were played as round robins.  Jenny Clarke of United was unbeaten to win the open event. John Yarrall of United was runner-up, losing only to Jenny. Ian Campbell of Barrington Park was third.

Kaleb Small of Waireka, South Canterbury won four of his five games to win the event and earn a handicap reduction. Bruce McLay of United , Lyn Dawson of Elmwood and Trish Dollan of Waimate, South Canterbury, had three wins, but Bruce was runner-up on net points.

A thank you to Margaret Stoddart Retirement Village for sponsoring the event and the GC Spring Tournament held two weeks ago.

Full results for the open and the handicap are on Croquet Scores.

2018 UCC AC Spring-1

Handicap place-getters: Lyn Dawson (3rd), Bruce McLay (2nd), Kaleb Small (first)
Open place-getters:  Jenny Clarke (first), Ian Campbell (3rd) and John Yarrall (2nd)

2018 UCC AC Spring-22018 UCC AC Spring-32018 UCC AC Spring-42018 UCC AC Spring-52018 UCC AC Spring-62018 UCC AC Spring-72018 UCC AC Spring-8

This entry was posted in AC, tournament. Bookmark the permalink.